WARREN SPRING ANNUAL TABLE TENNIS TOURNAMENT 2018

Thirty nine players, the largest ever entry came together over the weekend of 3rd and 4th March to compete in our 2018 tournament. Despite the weather, most made the trip and both competitors and spectators were treated to a feast of good table tennis. The event kicked off early Saturday morning with the division three singles contested by fifteen players all determined to give of their very best. After some real tussles, all seeded players came through their groups to set up an interesting quarter final draw. The first match featured the number 1 seed for this event Arshbir Singh who defeated Michael Roberts 3-1 (11-8, 11-5, 9-11, 11-4) Then came group three winner Isabelle Lacorte who finally triumphed over a battling George Thorn 3-2 (11-9, 6-11, 13-11, 3-11, 11-3) The other two matches were won in straight sets Miles Brignall overcoming Cesar Molina 11-8, 11-7, 11-6 and Samuel Dermont defeating Eric Morecombe 11-3, 12-10, 11-2. The first semi brought together Arshbir and Isabelle in what was a real corker of a match with no quarter given and with the No 1 seed looking mightily relieved after coming away with a 3-2 victory (10-12, 11-9, 11-3, 9-11, 11-7). The other semi was a more straightforward affair with Samuel beating Miles 3-0 (11-8, 11-8, 11-8). The final did have its edgy moments before Arshbir clinched it 3-1 (11-5, 11-8, 6-11, 12-10) to take the division three crown.



Div 3 – Winner: Arshbir Singh (left) Runner up: Samuel Dermont (right)

Saturday afternoon gave way to the division two competition with red hot favourite Victor Ramirez-Rioja alongside some of the very best players in North Herts for that division and our best from division three. An initial entry of sixteen was whittled down to eight for the quarters with the seeds making it through although Dante Lacorte had to settle for runners up spot after being beaten by the club's newest signing Terry Everitt. Isabelle Lacorte emerged from her group at the expense of Joe Keczkes and Samuel Dermont whilst the one and two seeds Victor and Stuart Marquis both topped theirs. Quarter final results;

Victor Ramirez-Rioja bt Isabelle Lacorte 11-8, 11-3, 11-9 Terry Everitt bt Arshbir Singh 11-7, 11-13, 12-10, 11-9 Colm Bushell bt Jim Keirl 11-7, 11-9, 11-6 Stuart Marquis bt Dante Lacorte 11-9, 11-7, 10-12, 11-9

In the semis, Victor was rarely troubled by Terry going through to the final by a score of 11-9, 11-4, 11-6 whilst Stuart was made to work a little harder by Colm before winning 11-8, 10-12, 11-7, 11-4. It was a brave person who would have bet money against Victor taking the division 2 crown and so it proved as the young twelve year old stormed passed Stuart 11-7,

11-7, 11-7.



Div 2 – Winner: Victor Ramirez-Rioja (left) Runner up: Stuart Marquis (right)

The Sunday morning saw the eagerly awaited division one competition get underway and once again we had sixteen entries. The biggest shock of the morning saw Ilyssa Lacorte fall at the hands of Dave Saunders before finally making her way through. Group 3 saw a titanic struggle take place with many matches in this group going to five legs. Heartfelt sympathy then to both Roy Jager and Elaine Hanworth who finally had to give way to Hayden Gruby and Dante Lacorte. The quarters went pretty much to plan with by far the most exciting match being between Ilyssa Lacorte and Hayden Gruby resulting in the young lady finally going through. Quarter final results;

Bruce Yao bt Mark Redford 11-4, 12-10, 11-6 Ilyssa Lacorte bt Hayden Gruby 7-11, 12-10, 11-8, 11-6 Victor Ramirez-Rioja bt John Cox 11-2, 11-5, 11-4 James Hamblett bt Dante Lacorte 11-7, 11-7, 11-9

The semis brought together last year's finalists Bruce and Ilyssa with the former winning somewhat more comfortably than he did in that match a year ago, whilst the second seed for this event James was made to work very hard indeed by Victor before securing a place in the final with a 11-7, 3-11, 11-9, 11-7 win. Who knows what would have happened should Victor have won that tight third leg. The final itself was a little flat with the No 1 seed finding it

difficult to "up his game" against the pace and movement of young James who came through to take the title with an 11-6, 11-2, 13-11 score line.



Div 1 – Winner: James Hamblett (left) Runner up: Bruce Yao (right)



The blue ribbon event of our tournament, the premier singles brought together six premier players and our two most promising juniors from division one. There were plenty of shock results emerging from the group stages including Ilyssa's impressive win over Taiwo Adedeyo and our young division one players both topping their group. These upsets meant that two established premier performers failed to make the semi final stage which saw James Hamblett take on and defeat Marlon Frankson 11-6, 11-7, 11-5 and top seed Marek Mastalerczyk going through to the final at the expense of Bruce Yao 11-2, 11-2, 11-5. This set up an interesting final, could young James defy the odds and beat his far more experienced and fancied opponent. The answer was not only yes, but James was never seriously challenged winning 12-10, 11-8, 11-4 to take the premier crown.



Premier Division – Winner James Hamblett (left) Runner up – Marek Mastalerczyk (right)



Our more fun event (although not to those playing), the handicap competition saw many closely fought games the most thrilling of these was probably Samuel Dermont's 20-21, 21-19, 21-19 victory over Hayden Gruby whilst Danny Emery had a real tussle with Colm Bushell before emerging 16-21, 21-19, 21-19. In another nail biter Victor Ramirez-Rioja took on Roy Jager with our old stager just being pipped 19-21, 21-16, 21-20. Congratulations also to our young NCL player Indu Pawar who stood tall to beat division one opposition in Mark Redford. After 31 matches the final two gladiators left were yes, once again, James who took the honours by beating Arshbir Singh 21-18, 21-17 and thus creating a new record of winning three events all in one day.



Handicap –Winner: James Hamblett (left)
Runner Up: Arshbir Singh (right)

